Mellon Mays Program Announces New Fellows

Posted March 30th, 2011 at 3:06 pm.

Bryn Mawr’s Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship Program has announced this year’s new Mellon Mays Fellows:

  • Sakina Abdus-Shakur ’13 of Philadelphia, Pa. Adbus-Shakur is a philosophy major.
  • Rachel Kutten ’13 of Montgomery Village, Md. Kutten is a sociology major and English minor.
  • Samantha Lopez ’13 of New York, N.Y. Lopez is a mathematics major.
  • Jomaira Salas ’13 of Lynn, Mass. Salas is a sociology major.
  • Jacinda Tran ’13 of Newark, Del. Tran is a growth and structure of cities major.

The Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship is a national program that serves to increase the number of minority students, and others with a demonstrated commitment to eradicating racial disparities, who will pursue Ph.D.s in core fields in the arts and sciences. MMUF aims to achieve its mission by identifying and supporting students of great promise and helping them to become scholars of the highest distinction.

Supported by travel grants as well as faculty and staff mentors, Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellows conduct extended research projects in their sophomore, junior, and senior years, as well as participating in conferences and leadership opportunities. Mellon Mays Fellows who enroll in Ph.D. programs in the designated fields within 39 months of college graduation are eligible for repayment of their undergraduate loans up to $10,000. The Social Science Research Council and the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation partner with the Mellon Mays program to support travel and research grants for fellows during graduate school, as they finish their dissertations, and into their careers as junior faculty members. Bryn Mawr has participated in the MMUF program since its inception in 1988.

Filed under: Announcements,For Faculty,For Staff,For students,Kudos,students by Claudia Ginanni

Comments are closed.