Bryn Mawr Board of Trustees Elects New Members

Posted May 10th, 2012 at 4:00 pm.

Bryn Mawr College’s Board of Trustees elected four new members at its April board meeting.

Sandy Baum ’72, Susan J. Davis ’86, Cheryl Holland ’80, and Patrick T. McCarthy Ph.D. ’81 were all elected to five-year terms.

The Board also elected Justine Jentes ’88 to a second term; named Catherine Allegra ’84, Bridget Baird ’69, Drew Faust ’68, and Linda A. Hill ’77 Special Representatives to the Board; and elected Fred Baumert and Barbara Paul Robinson ’62 emeriti trustees.

New Board Members:

Sandy Baum ’72 is an independent policy analyst for the College Board Advocacy & Policy Center and professor emerita of economics at Skidmore College. She has written extensively on issues relating to college access, college pricing, student-aid policy, student debt, affordability, and other aspects of higher-education finance.

She is the co-author of Trends in Higher Education and Education Pays: The Benefits of Higher Education for Individuals and Society. Other recent work includes studies of setting benchmarks for manageable student-debt levels and of tuition discounting in public and private colleges and universities. In addition, Baum co-chaired the Rethinking Student Aid study group, which recently issued comprehensive proposals for reform of the federal student aid system.

Baum is married to former Macalester College President Michael McPherson, who is now president of the Spencer Foundation. The two are frequent co-contributors to the Innovations blog of the Chronicle of Higher Education. The couple lives in Chicago.

Baum earned her bachelor’s in sociology from Bryn Mawr in 1973 and her master’s and MPhil in economics from Columbia University in 1978 and ’79 respectively. She earned her Ph.D. in economics from Columbia  in 1981.

Susan Jin Davis ’86 is vice president of strategic partnerships, communications and data services at Comcast Corporation.

She joined Comcast in 2005 and has been a leader in the company’s diversity initiatives, particularly as they relate to the company’s relationship with Asian-American communities. Prior to Comcast, Davis was vice president of investor relations and external affairs for Covad Communications Company, a Silicon Valley broadband company, where she was responsible for the company’s relationships with the investment community, regulatory and government affairs, and carrier relations. She began her career as an Assistant Consumer Advocate for the Pennsylvania Office of Attorney General.

Davis serves on many organizational boards, including the Asian Pacific American Institute for Congressional Studies (vice chair); Leadership Education for Asian Pacifics Inc.; Asian Pacific Islander American Scholarship Fund; National Association of Multi-Ethnicity in Cable, Philadelphia Chapter (advisory board); Business Advisory Council for the Organization for Chinese Americans; and the Penn State University Outreach Advisory Board. She is also a fellow at the Betsy Magness Leadership Institute of Women in Cable Telecommunications.

Davis earned her bachelor’s degree in political science at Bryn Mawr in 1986 and a J.D. from Dickinson College in 1990. She is widowed and lives with her daughter in Kennett Square, Pa.

Cheryl R. Holland ’80 served on the Board of Trustees from 1994-2006 and prior to this appointment had been serving as a Special Representative and chairman of the Investment Subcommittee.

Holland is president and founder of Abacus Planning Group, Inc., a comprehensive financial planning and investment counsel firm for individuals and closely held businesses. In 2007 the firm was awarded the Charles Schwab Impact Pacesetter Award, which recognizes an independent investment-advisory firm in business for 10 years or less that has realized accelerated growth through strategic management, innovative practices, and ongoing investments in business capabilities.

Holland is a frequent speaker and has authored numerous articles on financial planning. She serves on several other boards, including the Clemson University College of Business and Behavioral Science Advisory Board (chair), Columbia College Investment Committee, and the American Bible Society Board.

She lives in Columbia, S.C., with her husband, architect P. Douglas Quackenbush.

Patrick T. McCarthy, Ph.D. ’81, served as the Chairman of the GSSWSR Board of Advisors from 2005-2010 and a committee member since 2002.

In 2010 McCarthy became the president and CEO of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, a private charitable organization dedicated to helping build better futures for disadvantaged children in the United States. McCarthy joined the Casey Foundation in 1994 and has more than 25 years of experience in the field of children’s well-being.

Prior to joining Casey, McCarthy was senior program officer at the Center for Assessment and Policy Development. From 1985 to 1992, he held positions of increasing responsibility at the Delaware Department of Services for Children, Youth, and their Families, culminating in his appointment as director of the Division of Youth Rehabilitative Services. He began his career as a psychiatric social worker at the Camden County Mental Health Center in the early 1970s.

McCarthy has been an assistant professor at the University of Southern California Graduate School of Social Work and a lecturer at Bryn Mawr’s Graduate School of Social Work and Social Research.

He has a bachelor’s degree from Manhattan College, an M.S.W. in social work from the University of Pennsylvania, and a Ph.D. from Bryn Mawr’s Graduate School of Social Work and Social Research.

McCarthy is a trustee of The Foundation Center, Case Commons (chair), Jim Casey Youth Opportunities Initiative (chair), Living Cities, Baltimore Community Foundation, East Baltimore Development, Inc., and East Baltimore Community School.

Filed under: Uncategorized by admin

Comments are closed.